@ajanionthespot Editing my article. What is the CON save DC against a creature with deathtouch?
@DialMforMara Whatever the caster's spell save DC is. When and if any summoned creature's ability calls for a save, the DC is the caster's spell save DC.
@ajanionthespot how do I as the caster know what my spell save DC is?
@DialMforMara A caster's spell save DC is always 8 + their profeciency bonus + the ability modifier of their spellcasting ability.
So, a 3rd level druid with a wisdom of 16 would have a save DC of 8 + 2 (prof) + 3 (wisdom modifier) = 13. So that would be the DC for the CON save rolled against any of their deathtouch creatures.
@Jmaurer @DialMforMara Well, to my mind that's kinda the point of D&D, is that you don't have to let the rules be the last word about what happens. That's the whole point of having a DM, is to have someone who can take the rules and the results of the rules and jigsaw them together into a satisfying story.
With MtG, you have the card texts, and they say what HAS to happen. By bringing that into D&D, you can instead make the card text what CAN happen, and make up the rest of the story together.
Consider possibly a poison effect of some type (either ongoing damage or condition), or look to petrification for guidelines https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/Flesh%20to%20Stone#content
It's not instant death, but mtg combats are more like whole 5e encounters, where they're given a chance to heal and recharge, rather than 5e rounds.
Server run by the main developers of the project It is not focused on any particular niche interest - everyone is welcome as long as you follow our code of conduct!